RTI Activists India

Be Accountable, Ask for Accountability. Stop Corruption, Become RTI Activist

  Infrastructure Development in North Eastern Region

MINISTRY OF DEVELOPMENT OF NORTH EASTERN REGION (DONER) was set up in September 2001 to act as the nodal Department of the Central Government to deal with matters pertaining to socio-economic development of the eight States of North East i.e. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim. The Ministry is located at Vigyan Bhawan Annexe, Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi -110 011. According to the Allocation of Business Rules 1961, the following subjects have been alloted to the MDoNER :-

1. Matters related to the planning, execution and monitoring of developmental schemes and projects of North Eastern Region including those in the sectors of Power, Irrigation, Roads and Communications

2. Road works financed in whole or in part by the Central Government in the North Eastern Region

3. Planning of Roads and Inland Waterways Transport in the North Eastern Region

4. Hill Area Development Programme (HADP) and Border Areas Development Programme (BADP) in North Eastern Region

5. Non-lapsable Central Pool of Resources (NLCPR) for the North Eastern Region

6. North Eastern Council (NEC)

7. North Eastern Development Finance Institution (NEDFI)

8. North Eastern Regional Agricultural Marketing Corporation Limited (NERAMAC)

9. The Sikkim Mining Corporation Limited. (SMC)

10. North Eastern Handlooms and Handicrafts Development Corporation (NEHHDC)